jornales

for a moment of joy or moments no one pays for, i give myself a ‘jornal’. this makes me rich. try it.

An invitation to NaHaiWriMo…

…at the NaHaiWriMo Facebook site: In exactly eight days, the shortest month, February, begins. Aptly so timed when it started two years ago, National Haiku Writing Month (NHWM) as an event for the short poetic form, will be in full blast once again! As if we, who joined the first time, have let up because we haven’t long after February was over and the rest of the year unfolded and on to now. 

Long after we’ve taken on the challenge of writing a haiku a day, we kept on at the NHWM Facebook site. From the rather small group we’ve started we’re almost a thousand now, I believe, that have turned into an enthusiastic and supportive community. I’m not only glad I stayed, I’m hooked!

haiku has not only intensified my writing, it has sharpened my senses to everything around me: the wind, the sky, clouds and the moon, the scent of evenings, the feel of wings, a slight twitch in an eye, a pasted wisp of hair on wan temples, etc. etc. of hummingbirds and  raccoons and failed meringue. This concentrated poetic form has helped me see through ambiguities faster than I used to. And the wonder never stops with each three lines or one-or two-line haiku that I compose. It’s not an exclusive experience, too. Each poet responding to a prompt everyday could attest to this.  And by the way, midway last year, Michael Dylan Welch put together our first anthology, “With Cherries on Top”, which I had posted here.

I invite you then, better yet, I challenge you to take it up; like I did, just take the plunge and see where it takes you. Check it out at www.nahaiwrimo.com

With Cherries on Top Cover - Small

January 25, 2013 - Posted by | culturati news/views | , , , , , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. sorry…. That place is a nightmare…will kill any and all creative impulse….i suggest avoiding it all together..sorry to see you there

    Comment by bl8ant (@bl8ant) | January 25, 2013 | Reply

    • Oh, I’m sorry about how you feel. On the contrary, for me, it revved up my creativity so much so that during these two years, I’ve been published in more literary journals for both haiku and mainstream poetry than I’ve ever been and have already won major awards in international haiku and tanka competitions. But thanks for telling me how you feel. I hope you will find your way to haiku somehow.

      Comment by alee9 | January 25, 2013 | Reply

  2. congratulations with your success , However it is merely exposure in that thread that has taken you somewhere…your talent and craft speak for themselves and you stand heads apart from everyone writing in there…i am not feeding your ego i am observing a high level of talent… you need not be condescending with me….i am not looking to find my way with Haiku…i congratulate you with yours however!!

    Comment by bl8ant (@bl8ant) | January 26, 2013 | Reply

    • Thanks so much! I’ll keep this all in mind.

      Comment by alee9 | January 27, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

