jornales

for a moment of joy or moments no one pays for, i give myself a ‘jornal’. this makes me rich. try it.

cherry blossoms and haiku

How can’t I not pay myself a ‘jornal’ of $1000 for the beauty of cherry blossoms? I’m sure you agree.

I used to live half of the year in Baltimore. A trip to Washington, yes, at the Jefferson Memorial and the Mall was like a ritual for me and the friend I stayed with. 

But the very first cherry blossoms I’ve seen and I thought it a miracle was at Washington Square by New York University in Manhattan; we then lived a block away on Cooper Square. And later an even more breath-snagging burst of blossoms on a day the sun descended at its tenderest happened at the Brooklyn Botanical Gardens.

Of all the spring blossoms, indeed, that of the cherry tree draws the most awe. How can’t a cloud of pink not make one think of a state or place other than this brown earth. Even just being under the shade transforms us a bit like we seem to grow haloes.

My memories of walking under canopies of cherry blossoms in Washington and Baltimore on Riverside had endured and even inspired me to write haiku–as well around the blossoms hundreds of haiku have been written.

Now that I live in Vancouver, another cherry blossom city, my awe may never cease. I would like to share this haiku I wrote after a walk on Riverside in Baltimore.

 

cherry tree
shedding off petals at dusk—
moths in flight

Copyright © 2007 by Alegria Imperial
Honorable Mention, 2007 Vancouver Cherry Blossom Festival Haiku Invitational

 

posted as comment at PEN Blogs

April 22, 2009 - Posted by | poetry | , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Reblogged this on jornales and commented:

    Here is how I used to post in my blog. The haiku is but part of the text I wrote as a comment at PEN International’s blog. And I was still going by the idea that I would pay myself a ‘jornal’, (daily wage) with each moment of bliss (or come to think of it, a haiku moment! Hence, my blog’s name, ‘jornales’. My readers though didn’t pick up on it so I dropped the idea. This would be my 360 something post. If I persevered with my idea of giving myself wages, I’d be a multi-billionaire, by now! Maybe I should start again. Because the haiku here is my first and so far, only award-winner, I should repeat the ‘jornal’ I gave myself then at $1000.

    Comment by alee9 | March 15, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

