jornales

for a moment of joy or moments no one pays for, i give myself a ‘jornal’. this makes me rich. try it.

‘the colour plum’ in a quartet of (non-haikai*) 3-line poems…and why

I think I’m veering farther and farther away from haiku, but the structure has stayed like a template in my being; hence, my lines insist on being ‘three’, of two parts often unrelated (juxtaposition). While I still draw the essence of my poems from Nature, what comes out no longer expands contemplation but rather, the lines focus often on painful truths. I know there’s enough pain swirling in the universe right now (as is perceived) and it’s what I can’t seem to whitewash with the beauty of virgin snow. I wish I could but in writing haiku, the practice of finding ‘two-sides’ in a whole, has stayed with me as a simultaneous numbra/penumbra, thus, these non-haikai* poems. Still, it could just be a phase that has slipped in with grey November, which spring will lift up.

 

the colour plum

hints of pay back

maneuvers

 

bramble flower

still not enough

prickly stares

 

isolation bars

no matter our fingers

in knots

 

speckled steps

dare you break

rain patterns

 

moon basket

in it I carry

a widow’s comb

 

*nod to Johannes S. H. Berg, who coined it

November 28, 2014 - Posted by | comment, non-haikai, poetry | , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. I love them. don’t care what you call them. poetry has to expand for the needs of writers and readers. otherwise it’s dead.

    Comment by Belinda Broughton | February 5, 2015 | Reply

    • Oh, wow, Belinda!! What an uplifting comment!! Sometimes, I really do get concerned that my poetry has been increasingly ‘turned down’ or ‘not liked’. I try to conform but I think my being a rebel has take over (I’ve always been)! And I keep climbing rocks farther and farther away from the lea, so I feel. Yet, I feel so free! Thank you so much for being with me.

      Comment by alee9 | February 8, 2015 | Reply


Leave a Reply

