jornales

for a moment of joy or moments no one pays for, i give myself a ‘jornal’. this makes me rich. try it.

Four-year old Miriya took this tanka to carry in her pocket: Poem in Your Pocket Day

The future of poetry especially of tanka and haiku is secure; it’s in the hands of Miriya, the four-year old daughter of poet friend Christina Nguyen. Miriya found my tanka in GUSTS 15 of  Tanka Canada, which also has her mom’s and many other known friends, that apparently her mom was reading and had laid down with the page open where this tanka is. Christina told me she read it and asked to read it to her again, and in the end, asked her to write it down on a post-it so she can carry it in her pocket to read again and again. I’m not flattered but deeply honored. An angel has taken hold of my poetry, hence, in heavenly hands. It’s beyond any other honor I ever hope to achieve. Thank you Miriya and Christina.

was it you
who laid this feather
on my feet
seeking my forgiveness
in the rain?

GUSTS 15, Spring 2012

April 27, 2012 - Posted by | poetry, tanka | , , , , , , , , ,

8 Comments »

  1. Beyond sweet, hermana! I can see why Miriya was drawn to your poem . . . lovely.

    Comment by Margaret Dornaus | April 27, 2012 | Reply

  2. Oh, so fast! Mil gracias,hermana!

    Comment by alee9 | April 27, 2012 | Reply

  3. This is a lovely piece. If you enjoy such things as tanka, haiku, etc., please visit ‘the zen space’ http://thezenspace.wordpress.com

    M
    __________
    Marie Marshall
    author/poet/editor
    Scotland
    http://mairibheag.com
    http://kvennarad.wordpress.com

    Comment by kvennarad | April 27, 2012 | Reply

    • Thank you, Marie! And thanks for inviting me to visit your space. I love it!

      Comment by alee9 | April 27, 2012 | Reply

  4. Aww…how sweet… and how nice to be so honored! I love it, too!

    Comment by sanjuktaa | April 27, 2012 | Reply

    • Dear friend, Sanjukta, what sweetness you bring! Yes, to have something liked by a little girl…I feel like staying asleep with the dream afraid I’d lose the magic. Thanks for loving it, too!!!

      Comment by alee9 | April 27, 2012 | Reply

  5. There is not a poet alive who wouldn’t want that honor.

    Comment by Yousei Hime | May 3, 2012 | Reply

    • Indeed! When Christina, her mom, sent me the message, I had wanted to hang it like a ‘finishing diploma’ and retire from writing afraid I might slide into the mire of so-so works. But it can’t happen, of course. Thanks for doubling this honor with your comment.

      Comment by alee9 | May 4, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

