jornales

for a moment of joy or moments no one pays for, i give myself a ‘jornal’. this makes me rich. try it.

‘fox moon’, a tanka sequence at Yay Words on ‘fox dreams’

fox moon

must it always be
this light
that draws your anguish
so feared so misunderstood?

your paws
on thawing banks the tracks
you left for me
as if I’ve lost you in
the moon’s shifting moods

silence
the midnight wind sends
you howling
always you miss my whispers
shushing your longings

in dappled shadows
the fire burns in your eyes
singes rustling leaves
you step in the moonlight
where we lay down your embers

come out of hiding
what greater fate is there
that awaits
than for us to bare our desires
we live for this and this alone

Thrilled to share my first in Aubrie Cox’s creative blog, Yay Words, included in a collection of poems by 34 known and published haiku/tanka poets on ‘fox dreams’. So honored to have my work alongside theirs. Thanks again to Aubrie for this wonderful project.  Check it out at http://yaywords.wordpress.com/2012/04/22/fox-dreams/  Or click on ‘Yay Words’ on my blogroll.

Image of silver fox courtesy of wikipedia commons, photo by Zefram

April 24, 2012 - Posted by | poetry, tanka | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. Not everyone was published, so I’m delighted to be in the group. 😉

    Comment by Yousei Hime | May 3, 2012 | Reply

    • Yes, I’m glad for you, Yousei! I, too, like you feel very much honored with tanka included among stellar names in haiku, tnaka and the other Japanese short poetry forms. Really, you should sign up at NaHaiWriMo to hone your writing. It’s been a great ‘workshop’ for a lot of others like me. The daily exercise like any prescribed workout does draw out images and lines you’ve never thought you had. Thanks again so much for dropping by and your comment.

      Comment by alee9 | May 4, 2012 | Reply

      • That’s a good idea. I am “signed up” and n the Haiku Workshop site too on FB. I’ve had some security related issues with FB so I’ve been avoiding. Always an excuse. 😉 As school end approaches, I will definitely participate more. Thank you for the advice.

        Comment by Yousei Hime | May 4, 2012

      • Good! See you there!

        Comment by alee9 | May 6, 2012


Leave a Reply

