jornales

for a moment of joy or moments no one pays for, i give myself a ‘jornal’. this makes me rich. try it.

‘twilight rain’, my second haiku award from the 2012 Haiku Now Contest

twilight rain
the blue heron mid-lake
somehow smaller

Alegria Imperial (Canada)
Commended, Traditional haiku
The Haiku Foundation’s 2012 Haiku Now Contest

…my first, ‘cherry blossoms’, from the 2007 Vancouver Cherry Blossoms Festival Haiku Invitational. Both awards with single entries. I credit this award, a real surprise–honestly unexpected not even hopeful, knowing who would participate in it–to the daily exercise I’ve hung on to at the NaHaiWriMo facebook site. The practice of writing haiku-a-day with prompts has greatly improved my understanding of haiku, hence, how I write it.

April 19, 2012 - Posted by | haiku, poetry | , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 Comments »

  1. Dear Alegria, Congratulations! I spent a lot of time by a pond, during my years in Illinois, through the seasons, all kinds of weather. The herons captured my imagination. Your beautiful haiku brings back some blessed times.

    walking around
    the pond in fog
    I wait for answers

    Thank you, Ellen

    Comment by Ellen Grace Olinger | April 20, 2012 | Reply

    • Dear Elllen,

      Thanks so much for coming by and and such lovely comment! I love your haiku, too, a ‘winner’ to my mind. Yes, I love just being by a pond. So much life in there in small and huge movements like our breathing–sometimes un-sensed often like billows. And the heron in any manner that I see it, snags my breathing, always a delight!

      The inspiration for my haiku is, in truth, a blue heron mid-pond (manmade lake) at Van Dusen Gardens here in Vancouver that I noticed during the Festival of Lights last Christmas (a million dancing lights). As friends and I walked through the multi-colored lights reflected on foliage and the lake in the drizzle, I saw its figure, crouched and rueful. The haiku came to me three months later. Amazing this process that haiku worms its way in to our consciousness, isn’t it?

      Thanks so much again! Great knowing you through the web, at Yay Words and the THF site so far.

      Alegria

      Comment by alee9 | April 21, 2012 | Reply

  2. Congratulations! What a well deserved honor. Your haiku is so lovely. They are so difficult to write, aren’t they? If I spend enough time outdoors, they are easier because my thoughts question “why?” to nearly everything I see. If I know the why, the haiku doesn’t exist for me.. Keep on writing!

    Comment by Andrée Reno Sanborn | April 29, 2012 | Reply

    • Oh, thank you, Andree!!! How kind of you to drop by and leave me with such uplifting words. Yes, it’s been quite a struggle for me to really learn how to write a haiku. But I hardly ever back off a challenge that I’ve bitten! And so, persisting, I finally got it though I still fail as my submissions that return to me ‘declined’ say so. I’ve posted here a longish narration of my haiku path. If you’d like to know and you’ve got time, scroll down to ‘on bare branch’. Thanks again!

      Comment by alee9 | April 29, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

