jornales

for a moment of joy or moments no one pays for, i give myself a ‘jornal’. this makes me rich. try it.

Three of my favorite ‘insect’ haiku…


dragonfly
from stalk to stalk–
moonrise

trying my way
through yours—
Monarch butterfly

shifting light–
the truth about black
in this spider

…of the others in the ten published at Sketchbook 6-4 July August 2011 haiku thread. Again, I can’t seem to apply any haiku quality in any of these, except of course, that they’re written in three lines–though not in 5/7/5 syllables, which Michael DW has long debunked–and I believe present two images/thoughts not necessarily complementing each other but serving as a counterpoint for each other in what’s identified as ‘juxtaposition’ in haiku writing. I’ve posted here some reflections on my haiku but lately I seem unable to. I leave these three for now hoping they could stand on their own as haiku or poem should if they are good, that is. What do you think?

October 16, 2011 - Posted by | haiku, poetry | , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

