jornales

for a moment of joy or moments no one pays for, i give myself a ‘jornal’. this makes me rich. try it.

‘fallen leaf’ for Svetlana(haiga3 for 19 Planets Art Blog challenge)

'fallen leaf' haiga 3 with clip art on Microsoft Publisher

fallen leaf
curls into its own
emptied self

Tribute to NaHaiWriMo friend, beautiful soul, Svetlana Marisova, whose death at 21 swathed me in heavy sadness today, this haiga is also posted for Rick Daddario’s haiga-a-day challenge at 19 Planets Art Blog, composed on Microsoft Publisher with clip art.

September 9, 2011 - Posted by | haiga, haiku, poetry | , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. this is beautiful Alegria. my thoughts and heart are with you for your friend. this is a beautiful tribute to her. so young, i feel that weight especially.

    you’ve chosen your colors and fonts – or is it writing?? in your own hand?? – which ever – it works really well with the image. you are doing some very creative work with this concept that alters “clip art” and takes it to an entirely different level (imo). this is very special.

    Comment by Rick Daddario | September 9, 2011 | Reply

    • Yes, I’m deeply deeply saddened by the passing away of Svetlana. I feel like I’ve lost a soul I once knew in another ether–her spirit so mirrored itself in mine. In one of her last haiku, she wrote of a ‘fallen leaf’, alluding perhaps to her own self. I picked up on the image, which I worked on from the first fallen leaves I noticed on my walk that day–and so the haiga. That clip art so fitted the thought, doesn’t it? No, it isn’t my writing-it’s a font on Microsoft Publisher called ‘vine handwriting’. Thanks again for your lovely words!!!

      Comment by alee9 | September 10, 2011 | Reply

  2. Lovely, Alee. Never knew clip art could be used so creatively!

    Comment by sanjuktaa | September 10, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks again! I’ve done a bit of playing with it for greeting cards sometime ago but it’s the first time I’m ‘brave’ enough to try it for haiga. And it does work! I begin with a blank page, and then search for any art, stop and click on something that strikes me, which I play with on the page such as changing it shape, size, and tint until it turns into an ‘idea’. It is then when the haiku sort of breaks into space. Try it! It’s thrilling!

      Comment by alee9 | September 10, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

