jornales

for a moment of joy or moments no one pays for, i give myself a ‘jornal’. this makes me rich. try it.

‘in the thicket’ (haiga for 19 Planets Art Blog made with clip art)

'in the thicket', my first ever haiga made with clip art

in the thicket
waiting on clouds
frogs

I think it looks awful, not artful at all! It reminds me of cards I pick up on shelves of thrift shops, the kind no one makes these days. But I have to try something. And I did with Microsoft Publisher, the only program I have that allows me to do some layout and a bit of art. Maybe I can learn to paint with the program because it’s possible. Still, I have to give it a shot and suffer through the birthing.

Thanks to Rick Daddario for giving me the spunk to do this.

September 6, 2011 - Posted by | haiga, poetry, Uncategorized | , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. oh. i think that works really well Alegria – because the haiku works really well – both on it’s own and together with the clip art. together, it takes the image into another realm (imo). way fun.

    i think this idea to use clip art has a lot of possibilities – i like this idea. combining clip art with haiku makes the clip art be seen in an entirely different way than most people would ever think to see it. i know i looked at the clip art BECAUSE of your words, in a very different way. yeah, i like that.

    true.. this is a beginning. however… as with a lot of things, you gain validity with numbers (imo). when you do more of these, you will build a context in which to place each new work that will validate what you are doing. cool. i say… go for it. way fun.

    aloha.

    Comment by Rick Daddario | September 7, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks so much, Rick! I’ve been using clip art because I can’t do creative photography with my sister’s digital camera. I’ve been dredging wikicommons though for paintings and illustrations that I use for my free verse. I’d like to go back to ‘doodling’, which I had done long ago. I even bought watercolor some months ago because I dabbled in it in the far past. When I feel ready for it, maybe, I’ll plunge into it. As you say, I’m starting to have fun…way fun. And I’m thrilled you like my haiku. Thanks again!

      Comment by alee9 | September 8, 2011 | Reply

      • yes. ah. go back to – return to things… yes, i do that often because it always comes out new again. or at least it usually does, because of the knowledge and experience i’ve gained since the last time i was working with what ever it was that i did previously.

        i’d also say tho… go ahead and try new things too. even the camera. trying it now, will mean that later you can return to it too.

        the way i see it, doodling is a door. it’s a way to start and to enter into play. and you know i see that as a good thing.

        cool on the watercolors too. cool on exploring what a brush does. and what you can do with a brush. and color. the range of deep color to thin color. and line thick to thin. and… i’m sure you know. explore. experiment, try this and try that. observe. and of course… daily is always a good way to do this. even if it is only for a few moments each day. daily. when i get that daily pattern established, that’s when it becomes very fun. daily. and i want to get to it – because it’s fun.

        yeah, i like what you are doing. keep at it. that’s what i intend to do. aloha.

        Comment by Rick Daddario | September 9, 2011

      • Your prodding is gentle, and I love it! I’m getting on with this on nightly basis–when I feel most absorbed–but I’m afraid it could grip me like a vise so much so that from a ‘haikuholic’ as Michael (Dylan Welch) describes who some of us (but I’m on rehab from a ‘near breakdown’ when I took leave of haiku for a few weeks), to a ‘haigaholic’! It could turn out to be way fun…if only life and its ‘crabby wants’ understand…

        Comment by alee9 | September 10, 2011


Leave a Reply

