jornales

for a moment of joy or moments no one pays for, i give myself a ‘jornal’. this makes me rich. try it.

my voted haiku on ‘rainbow’ (Sketchbook June 2011 haiku kukai)

under trellises
their blooming vegan romance
harvests snap peas

Sketchbook June 2011 among haiku thread editor’s choice

rainbow–
of her childhood wishes
she rephrases one

5th place Sketchbook June 2011 haiku kukai (kigo: rainbow)

wanting more
of the rainbow she takes
her kaleidoscope

9th place

so close
at her every step–
rainbow’s end

10th place (or zero vote)

Please bear with me for posting published haiku for now. Nothing fresh has worked out for me these past days. I hope some will come soon as easily as these rainbow haiku.

By the way, I can tell you why the last haiku received no vote: first, it’s author-driven or my idea imposed on it, in stead of an observation; second, it has no anchor, hence, no pivot; third, it does not leap into any thought; fourth, it’s a cliche or a rephrasing of ‘finding a dream or pot of gold at the end of the rainbow.

July 24, 2011 - Posted by | haiku, poetry | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. may be, on your comment about “why no votes”… however… i really like the kaleidoscope ku. i also like seeing that we are human beings. which to me you show me in this post. that we are a lot a like. i like that too.

    sometimes i find myself on a plateau – have i said this here already? – sometimes i’ve learned i have to cross that plateau to get to where i go up again. what i’ve come to understand is, that if i’m on a plateau, it means i’m ready to move upward. so i begin crossing at a steady pace – working my way across in the muck of my words – or images. until i find that fresh wind of climbing the mountainside again.

    cheers to mountain climbing for you alegria – aloha

    Comment by Rick Daddario | July 26, 2011 | Reply

    • I’m sorry for this ‘oh so awfully’ delayed reply, Rick!

      You might be glad to know how I turned around in my tracks or more precisely, leaped off the tracks that’s been ramming me down. The beach walks, the skirting around the edges of the eternal, which to me the rhythmic waves seem like, the breaking into contemplative clumps of sedge, the plucking i did of resistant tiny blossoms clinging onto ancient barks of trees i can’t name, a revisit to a canyon where whirlpools on a low-raging river hypnotically drew me to forget, let fall, let go of structured moments and thoughts–all had seemed to transform me. I’m back in form but not the same one–I feel unshackled by my self-imposed ‘perfections’ and ‘goals’. I’ve regained my spirit!

      Thanks for sharing with me how you manage it, how when you reach a plateau you just cross it, keep a steady space until you find a way up the crest again! I’ll keep that in mind.

      And thanks for loving my ‘kaleidoscope’ haiku! Aren’t the chips in there like rainbow remnants? I had thought so and even believed it as a child, and I would spend hours stuck on a kaleidoscope! Yes, I always do that–sort of ‘twist’ my haiku from a center within me. I think it’s called ‘anthropomorphic’ and not acceptable by some rules. ‘Rules’, these too, I had sort of promised not to be held by them like a vise. I’ve always been a rebel in a way; I might as well be true to myself! Thanks again, dear friend!

      Comment by alee9 | August 23, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

