jornales

for a moment of joy or moments no one pays for, i give myself a ‘jornal’. this makes me rich. try it.

into fog (my first tanka in print)

into fog
we lose who we are
under oaks
first a weight in the eyes
then our hands no longer ours

copyright (c) by Alegria Imperial 2011
First published in Eucalypt: a tanka journal 10 2011 Edited by Beverley George

One of five tanka from which Elizabeth Howard, past winner, had picked her best choice or a winner in the issue.

Posted for One Shot Wednesday at One Stop Poetry. A sad note comes with this post as I lose friends on this site who are leaving for other clear meadows, Adam, Brian, Chris G, Claudia and Pete. I’ve gained a steady ground from which my poetry had soared from their constant nourishment in generous words. I’ll really miss you! But come check us out for this last One Shot with the team.

July 20, 2011 - Posted by | poetry, tanka | , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. our hands no longer ours…that is rather haunting…

    i will miss one shot too…

    but will still be around. smiles.

    Comment by brian | July 20, 2011 | Reply

    • See what I mean? You’re the first to read and comment on my post! Thank you, Brian! I’ve checked out the new site. Terrific! I’ll follow all of you soon. Thannks again!

      Comment by alee9 | July 21, 2011 | Reply

  2. Beautiful, mi hermana. Congratulations on this. Absoluately beautiful!

    Comment by Margaret Dornaus | July 22, 2011 | Reply

    • Mil gracias, mi hermana! I’m glad you like it. It was indeed thrilling when I received Beverley’s acceptance note, which as usual I didn’t expect. I kept reading the last two lines and I had feared it would be too abstract or lyrical. But she did find it good. Thanks again for being a great hermana with your prompt and generous support!

      Comment by alee9 | July 22, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

