jornales

for a moment of joy or moments no one pays for, i give myself a ‘jornal’. this makes me rich. try it.

solstice (a tanka*-ish reflection for One Shot Wednesday)

only in fullness
am I still–
i cast no shadow
as a rendezvous
dissipates into a sob

the wind flails
hapless
in the gingko twigs–
where perfection
encases feelings

if punctured
fibres
of wombs burst
water before blood
into birthing

a cry of rage
flags what a heart
hoards–
peace when it settles
lines its chambers

nothing like a Nautilus
the heart is but a pump
the fist opening
and closing
for fluids to flow

red colors
a river the heart
conjures–
layers of molecules
veil its nature

until the solstice
skids past its point
of stillness
wholeness is truth
until

a heart breaks
until a birthing point
reverts
to that first sound
that cry of rage


*tanka, sometimes known to be the precursor of haiku, is a 5-line Japanese poetic form used by court poets of ancient Japan. Scroll down for my post on this form in February.

Posted for One Shot Wednesday at On Stop Poetry where poets and artists of the most inimitable talents gather to share and support each other. Check it out!

June 21, 2011 - Posted by | free verse, poetry | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

12 Comments »

  1. intense…particularly in the last two…but those were my favorites…smiles.

    Comment by brian | June 22, 2011 | Reply

    • Always the first to read, I suppose, and comment with words that reassure, nourish the heart! Thanks hugely, Brian!

      Comment by alee9 | June 22, 2011 | Reply

  2. Again, another lyrical tour d’force from you, Ali. I love the risks you take with disparate adjectives/nouns– this has a cascading feel to it– gorgeous. xxxxj

    Comment by Jenne' R. Andrews | June 22, 2011 | Reply

    • Oh, Jenne, I love what you say about my poems–always something new: ‘lyrical tourd’force’ and ‘disparate adjectives/nouns’ that give a ‘cascading feel’. They sound like what I would read as critiques in the back of a collection! Thanks so much!

      Comment by alee9 | June 22, 2011 | Reply

  3. Could feel the flow of wind, blood, and water. Brian says intense, and I agree. Your poetry always has a sharp edge to it. Wonderful as always.

    Comment by dustusdustus | June 22, 2011 | Reply

    • I hold on to what you say each time, Adam! Such nourishment for me! Like I told Brian, OSP has been a fertile patch for me. Thanks to you, I seem to be really finding my voice, letting it ring louder and louder!

      Comment by alee9 | June 22, 2011 | Reply

  4. “The heart is but a pump” that one stuck with me, very strong piece.

    Comment by Pat Hatt | June 22, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks for your lovely comment, Pat! But the heart is but a pump, isn’t it? And yet, it can’t be!!!

      Comment by alee9 | June 22, 2011 | Reply

  5. As always, great language, forceful images, strong flow. I especially like the second stanza, with it’s wind flailed twigs and “perfection encases feelings..” and the entire fourth stanza is genius.

    Comment by hedgewitch | June 22, 2011 | Reply

    • Beloved hedgewitch, you always pick the stanza and the lines that are lodged in the heart of my poems. “Genius?” I’m up in the stratosphere without wings!

      Comment by alee9 | June 22, 2011 | Reply

  6. An excellent poem. I had to read a couple times. good stuff! I especially liked Stanza 5.

    Comment by poemblaze | June 22, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks, poemblaze! I’m thrilled you love it!

      Comment by alee9 | June 22, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

