jornales

for a moment of joy or moments no one pays for, i give myself a ‘jornal’. this makes me rich. try it.

under a wilting sky (for One Shoot Sunday)

'he never calls' photo prompt by Rob Hanson

notes you left on a wrinkled sky
that’s never blue always a heartless hue bruises
no sun can stand

shifts eternity imposes: no mere pauses—
your convenient absence these slashes
on tender paper you tore off the back of my palm

excuses I proffer—my veins throb so
in your presence—you deride lips smacking
on listless air my shroud

under a waiting sky, wilting
no one knows why

who but the heart
that knows knows when a smile
alights on a voice

who among the spaces senses
a smile as it wings its path to the heart
that knows

a flight quite swift aboard a voice still quite
mute its ring a sound only when it alights
on the heart that knows knows

what that smile knows knows its birth in the heart
only the heart that knows knows
why waiting

wilts the sky

Posted for One Shoot Sunday at One Stop Poetry from an image prompt by Rob Hanson in this inimitbale gathering place of poets and artists.Cenck us out. Better yet, hop in!

June 12, 2011 - Posted by | free verse, poetry | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 Comments »

  1. waiting wilts the sky for sure…some nice word play it the know knows they at the end implying deeper meaning…a smile goes a long way in ones voice…

    Comment by brian | June 12, 2011 | Reply

    • To dear Brian whose unfailing ‘smiles’ and generous words keep me ‘noursihed’ for the next poem, my endless gratitude!

      Comment by alee9 | June 13, 2011 | Reply

  2. love the sensing of a smile, winging its path to the heart that knows…and yes..we always seem to know somehow..

    Comment by Claudia | June 12, 2011 | Reply

    • Dear Claudia, knowing you know what a poem takes, I’m oveerwhelmed by your reading and your comment on my take of this prompt! Thank you so much!

      Comment by alee9 | June 13, 2011 | Reply

  3. Quite an amazing personification of the sky. A wrinkled, waiting, wilting sky! Really like the second line too… “that’s never blue always a heartless hue bruises” Always a pleasure to read your work, Alegria

    Comment by dustus | June 12, 2011 | Reply

    • Dear Adam, where would I have gone if you haven’t welcomed me at OSP? You’ve allowed me to freely soar and expand my lines beyond my imagining! Each of your comments push me up higher as much as I could. My gratitude is boundless!

      Comment by alee9 | June 13, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

