jornales

for a moment of joy or moments no one pays for, i give myself a ‘jornal’. this makes me rich. try it.

riddle (for One Shot Wednesday featured and critiqued by Jendi Reiter at winningwriters.com)

from flints flung off
cliffs where crags snag
fledglings came my seed,
buried, until as sapling
i spiraled off ground. air
feeds me but it turns

poison when i exhale, cracks
when as blossom i break,
feigning petulance. i am crowned
when i abscond words.

i bear fruit when my
flesh oozes. my dreams
drip when birds hang where i gaze
on a promise; moons that sprout on my limbs i count
as wings resisting winds.

my yearnings
wear out the sun, singe my heart
a thousand times. but always
at dawn i bud.

Copyright 2008 by Alegria Imperial
Critique by Jendi Reiter at http://www.winningwriters.com October 2008

Posted for One Shot Wednesday at One Stop Poetry, THE gathering place for poets and artists of inimitable works who also nurture each other. Check us out. Better yet, hop in!

May 31, 2011 - Posted by | free verse, poetry | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 Comments »

  1. As ever, your poem flows like a brook, one image leading to the next and next– unlike the amateurs we read all the time,you understand the power of the image and how to let it speak for you– beautiful. I especially loved “my yearnings
    wear out the sun, singe my heart
    a thousand times. but always
    at dawn i bud.”

    I so utterly rspond to those lines..xxxj

    Comment by jenneandrews | May 31, 2011 | Reply

    • Oh, thank you so much, Jenne, again and again! I love these lines, too. And I don’t know where they’re coming from!

      Comment by alee9 | June 2, 2011 | Reply

  2. your alliteration and quick rhymes pull this along nicely…and regardless of the rest…continue to bud and bloom…smiles.

    Comment by brian | May 31, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks as ever, Brian! More smiles from me!

      Comment by alee9 | June 2, 2011 | Reply

  3. Wow your flesh can ooze
    With that how can you lose
    Yes I have a few loose screws
    But I’m not on booze
    Nice write here today
    Enjoyed it at your way

    Comment by Pat Hatt | June 1, 2011 | Reply

    • Wow! Thanks for rhyming your comments!

      Comment by alee9 | June 2, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

