jornales

for a moment of joy or moments no one pays for, i give myself a ‘jornal’. this makes me rich. try it.

me to Shiki:/how far can i go/with haiku? (his possible answers)

heron at lake courtesy of wikicommons

me to Shiki:
how far can i go
with haiku?

his possible answers

heron equals
stillness

***

stillness–
we break the rules

***

nothing moves in the pond–
turtle

***

plum tree–
only when it blooms

***

only lotus flowers
in the pond

***

wind to bamboo:
how far
can whispers go?

May 28, 2011 - Posted by | haiku, poetry | , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

12 Comments »

  1. Wow. Wow. What an amazing post. I’ll keep coming back to this one.

    Comment by Melissa Allen | May 28, 2011 | Reply

    • Wow! Thanks, Melissa, dear Red Dragonfly!

      I do get this urge to ruin the ‘box’ in the spirit of Shiki’s rebellion and that’s quite often. But getting it down on paper or on the screen like this post takes some daring of which I don’t have often. Last night, perhaps because it past midnight and my head was still spinning with these images, I simply did it! And it felt good.

      Comment by alee9 | May 28, 2011 | Reply

  2. Beautiful, hermana! The last stanza “wind to bamboo:/how far/can whispers go?” . . . brilliant. Love it.

    Comment by Margaret Dornaus | May 28, 2011 | Reply

    • Mil gracias, mi hermana! I do love that last one that just came in a flash!

      Comment by alee9 | May 29, 2011 | Reply

  3. This is gorgeous!

    Comment by Mama Zen | May 28, 2011 | Reply

    • Thank you, MamaZen!

      Comment by alee9 | May 29, 2011 | Reply

  4. 🙂

    Comment by contemplativemoorings | May 30, 2011 | Reply

    • And my endless thanks and smiles to you, too!

      Comment by alee9 | May 30, 2011 | Reply

  5. A lot of nice images.

    Comment by zongrik | June 1, 2011 | Reply

    • Thank you for your wonderful words and for dropping by!

      Comment by alee9 | June 2, 2011 | Reply

  6. aloha Alegria – yeah. wow. on this entire post. this has a beautiful flow to it. and your “response” replies. wow. stunning. and beautiful. aloha.

    Comment by Rick Daddario | June 2, 2011 | Reply

    • Wow! I’m without words this time. But let me recover from your kind, uplifting words, Wrick! And I’ll be back!

      Comment by alee9 | June 2, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

