jornales

for a moment of joy or moments no one pays for, i give myself a ‘jornal’. this makes me rich. try it.

the wait (TCR issue 51 for One Shot Wednesday)

on the window
the bird seed beveled
a choppy morning
where the soughing wind
mimics whispers
snagged among caricature
of trees

ruined by the rain
shredded under steps
leaves trapped in gutters—
thoughts flung on
rain puddles where the rain
drops as rings blurring
the sky

in the lilac bush
the ruckus of the sparrows
sinks into the sunset
in the brambles a spider web sags—
we wait for the darkness
to open up for the moon

Copyright (c) by Alegria Imperial 2011

Published at The Cortland Review Issue 51 May 2011

Posted for One Shot Wednesday at One Stop Poetry. Check out this site wher poets share their love for their art and nurture each other.

May 23, 2011 - Posted by | free verse, poetry | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

10 Comments »

  1. smiles…love all the textures of nature you gather…may the moon find you soon enough…

    Comment by brian | May 25, 2011 | Reply

    • Brian, I love your ‘smiles’! And how spare but so uplifting your words–I think I’ve said it last time but it’s exactly how I feel and I’m running out of words to describe it! I did find ‘that moon’ but I’m waiting for another one again.

      Comment by alee9 | May 28, 2011 | Reply

  2. Beautiful sequences flawlessly stairstepped, image vying with image to the exquisite close. And congratulations on having it published–very deserving of it. Can’t pick out any one line over any other–they are all matched like pearls in a necklace. Lovely stuff, Alegria.

    Comment by hedgewitch | May 25, 2011 | Reply

    • So much to thank you for in your two-sentence flawless description of how my poem struck you and my other poems, Joy! I almost believe I might just be a poet! Or maybe I might as well by now if you think this is ‘lovely stuff’. My writing life has so changed after ‘meeting you’ here.

      Comment by alee9 | May 28, 2011 | Reply

  3. great write
    …always waiting for the moon

    Comment by woih | May 25, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks for dropping by and your lovely comment!

      Comment by alee9 | May 28, 2011 | Reply

  4. lovely ali– your work is image-rich and always brings me back. Thanks for your visits to me. I have a new poem up and a link there to a book review I just wrote. Would you give me your take? xxxj

    Comment by jenneandrews | May 25, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks again, Jenne, for loving my poem! I’ll surely com by parola soon!

      Comment by alee9 | May 28, 2011 | Reply

  5. Rich and colourful with some pleasing alliteration heading up the images.

    Comment by Dick | May 27, 2011 | Reply

    • What an honor and wonderful surprise finding you back here! From you, such words does make me a ‘winner’! Thank you, Dick!

      Comment by alee9 | May 28, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

