jornales

for a moment of joy or moments no one pays for, i give myself a ‘jornal’. this makes me rich. try it.

unfinished poems (for One Shot Wednesday)

red rose in a fluted vase sitting on its petals
for no one pretending prettiness passes
for love…

the gift in its box but a heart
unwrapped its beating unfelt like the ease
a lover leaves at dawn…

notes left unwritten cloud the heart
wilt on tight buds in a garden
awaiting a storm…

in the soil roots fight over names
like delphiniums like fuschia like hostas where
have heather dug stiffness out of hairs or simply rise
as rose at dawn…

the hand drenched in the haze sags under the moon
the night has so much to say so few
understand…

for us and the stars among sparrows spits turn
talisman in the dark as a dream finds a nymph
on a moss a croak becomes you…

Posted for One Shot Wednesday at One Stop Poetry. Come on in. Join me and other poets in this gathering place.

May 18, 2011 - Posted by | free verse, poetry | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

8 Comments »

  1. I like this and you are gutsy to put out an offering of works in progress
    I have hundreds of archived poems that didnt pass muster – these pieces work like thumb nail drawings of a greater whole.

    Thanks for sharing these with One Shot

    Comment by moondustwriter | May 18, 2011 | Reply

    • My thanks to you for keeping up OSP is greater than yours for my poems, Leslie! Indeed, I’m gutsy in that I dare bare my weaknesses and amazingly find a reward as well as strength in how readers take my work. Some of the phrases or words in these unfinished poems, like yours, have been sleeping in archives either in yellowed sheets or in my head. A few days ago, they seemed to just woke up and poked me for another life. And voila! Thanks again!

      Comment by alee9 | May 18, 2011 | Reply

  2. each verse is like a little snapshot in itsellf, the last two are esp delicious…nice how you pieced this together…

    Comment by brian | May 18, 2011 | Reply

    • Love how you find the last two ‘delicious’, Brian! Those two are almost finished for me…or perhaps as you said, I should really string all of them together. Thanks again!

      Comment by alee9 | May 18, 2011 | Reply

  3. These are like the words that come to me in dreams, that I scribble in the dark and in the morning sometimes can’t even read. Here you take these fragments and make them individual pearls. Very nice, Alegria.

    Comment by hedgewitch | May 18, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks so much, Joy! How you phrase what you say really does soothe! Yes, these words have come to me some in the dark, others in the depth under bright noons. It amazes me no end how a single word often begins and ends a poem though these seem like a breeze that brushed me and teasing, vanished. ‘Pearls’…I know one day, i’ll wake up to a handful to string. Thanks again!

      Comment by alee9 | May 18, 2011 | Reply

  4. Heart felt and beautiful imagery. Well done =)

    Comment by mindlovemisery | May 19, 2011 | Reply

    • Thank you for your kind and lovely words for me!

      Comment by alee9 | May 21, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

