jornales

for a moment of joy or moments no one pays for, i give myself a ‘jornal’. this makes me rich. try it.

fire on fire (for One Shot Wednesday)

the whelp carouses
under el arbol de fuego blazing
rubbing a hind leg in rhythmic
push at the fevered trunk
dust gathers a small storm

a haze in the roots
of the birds-of-paradise

she prowls the hive
of a mid-equinox sun a tremor
in her steps touches the stones balking
at the rumour: Venus
has sipped from Pluto’s venom

she conceives black tongues
the women read on leaves

the sun descending stalls
midway on her whipping the whelp
for felling el arbor de fuego
as if fire on fire does not
consume the elements

in the wind the yelping
shreds the buds of trees

her screams draw
the night in moaning as if
torture is ecstasy
when body and soul those
tautened strings

lure hands to hammer
chords whimpering
she arcs her breasts

to suckling tongues of fire

Posted for One Shot Wednesday at One Stop Poetry, a gathering place for some of the most talented poets and artists ever. Share yours with their love for their art.

March 29, 2011 - Posted by | free verse, poetry | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

12 Comments »

  1. Such strong emotion expressed here. I especially liked, “…lure hands to hammer
    chords whimpering…” chords whimpering, what a great phrase. Enjoyed reading 🙂

    Comment by lori | March 29, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks, Lori! I’m glad you enjoyed it!

      Comment by alee9 | March 30, 2011 | Reply

  2. Very well written One Shot.

    Comment by KB | March 29, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks for your kind comment and for coming by, KB!

      Comment by alee9 | March 30, 2011 | Reply

  3. wow this is tight with emotion…the black tongues read on leaves…and the return to tongues in the end…nice one shot!

    Comment by brian | March 30, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks, Brian! So glad you liked it…liked the ‘tongues’!

      Comment by Alegria Imperial | March 30, 2011 | Reply

  4. Ah, Alegria–such gorgeous, surreal imagery, vivid to the point of almost being able to feel the fire…you’re reminding me of Lorca here, and from me there’s no higher compliment, especially beginning with “…Venus
    has sipped from Pluto’s venom..” Great stuff!

    Comment by hedgewitch | March 30, 2011 | Reply

    • Thank you so very much, Joy! From you, any word is a high compliment!

      I’ve loved Lorca since I first got hold of one of his peotry collection in the university, and I used to dream “verde te quiero verde”. Then came Juan Ramon Jimenez, “your eyes, Platero, are two beautiful roses”, Pablo Neruda, and of course, of late, Gabriel Garcia Marquez. I do feel deeply drawn to Spanish art in all its forms. As you know, Spanish culture in its rather gothic way has already seeped into our Malay-Arabic-Chinese webbed culture 300 years before the Americans tried to rationalize our souls. I’ve always stepped into the surreal I guess because my childhood steeped me in native taleswhile I cavorted with the inhabitants of the Grimms brothers’ and Andersen’s fairy tales. And then, I grew up in dawn and midnight rituals in massive stone baroque churches rife with tales of Spanish soldiers, a history set in a walled medieval capital city surrounded by a moat and draw bridges with clanging iron gates, as well as, governors murdered on the steps of palaces.

      When I started writing my poems, I think I paid more attention to my language–English, that is, which is not native to me, hence, alien to my soul. My classmates at the NYU writing clases I attended used to take note of how I ‘fractured’ their language and made it ‘curlicued’, and os, I tried to write ala Hemingway! The truth is, it’s only now, since I joined OSP and the “shot” and “shoot” compelled me to write en pronto on the the blank space of my blog, the cursor pulsing, that I think what’s been languishing under “norms of borrowed tongues and culture” in me has been unleashed. I’m not even aware of it–what I know is that I’ve been feeling really good about the poems I’ve been composing “on demand” right here for OSP!!! And also, because there’s you who I know would be awaiting to read what I write and would “read right through me”, I have never felt as free as I do now.

      Comment by alee9 | March 31, 2011 | Reply

  5. Yes beautiful imagery.

    Comment by Raven | March 31, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks, Raven!

      Comment by alee9 | March 31, 2011 | Reply

  6. A complex and intelligent poem, which is a perfect example of the truth of T S Eliot’s assertion that ‘Great poetry communicates before it’s understood.’
    I know I don’t yet fully understand this remarkable work, yet am convinced I’m in the presence of a very considerable intellect and a remarkable talent.
    Thank you for sharing this. My kind regards, James.

    Comment by James Rainsford | March 31, 2011 | Reply

    • TS Eliot as a reference for my poem!!! What an absolute honor, James! I can’t believe it. But indeed, his poems once ruled my consciousness in a literature graduate course. I had a whole semester of it during my graduate studies for a philosophy degree. And indeed, my baby thesis for the semester was The Wasteland. That’s been decades ago but since I started writing poetry seriously in 2006, I must have been fetching from a well in my being that I’ve covered with peat moss for years again, without my knowing it. But rereading my work like ‘April’s Dream’, I recognize and yes, this with Lorca, his spirit. Thank you so much!

      By the way, I also love how I fared with your photo prompt, What do you see?

      Comment by alee9 | April 1, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

