jornales

for a moment of joy or moments no one pays for, i give myself a ‘jornal’. this makes me rich. try it.

What do you see? (for One Shoot Sunday)

Photo prmpt by James Rainsford

1.
What do you see?
Not the span of my wings I ask not
Or the pin-lock of my beak

My eyes made of gems
Creation shielded you may not covet
If you could a universe

A glimpse of my wings
Such envy it has spawned in hearts like yours
The rufous I bank on in flight

If I perch on a shoulder
You could die in sheer awe of mine–ample
And reddish like the flare of the sun

Unsteady your life as your feet
Had rocked you solid blind to what I see
On my tarsus firm on a twig

2.
Stone from stone
That heart of yours locked in cold
I feel no pity

A head you preened
No sign of polish and spark
In coagulated cells

I squeal I do
Keee-r-r nothing to your hollow ears then
Mortar-filled now as your brain

A soul you wrapped
In manners as translucent as words un-rooted unlike
Mine seed-like but forward in my breast

I winter in forests you burrow
Lifeless in dark cavities imitating iridescent skies
Making it like home but you are wingless

3.
What do you see?
Battlefields you scoured between your agonies
And waning moons?

Or spires that sway under a mid-heaven
You strived to pierce to let spurt secrets
The constellations conceive?

Filigreed walls behind you
Await for storms to cease heaving
Whispering luring the darkness

Columns prop up the dome
You unfurled over the stare of an accusing sky
Do you see their spine corroding?

What do you see?

4.
As stone you see
Not twigs that soon arc to meet
A pink horizon

Or a black patch
Where drooping snowdrops
Bloom tufts on your path

You had trudged
On paths crushing crocuses and dandelions
Shredding silken azalea sighs

Eyes on grit you missed
Evergreens flailing in the wind to snag
the first low star

As you stepped into a
carrion’s day like a crow squawking at sky
hopping on a dumpster grinding by

I’m posting this poem for One Shoot Sunday at One Stop Poetry from a picture prompt by James Rainsford. Come join us in this gathering place where a most amazing selection of talented artists and poets share their work while nurturing each other.

March 20, 2011 - Posted by | free verse, poetry | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

8 Comments »

  1. “You had trudged
    On paths crushing crocuses and dandelions
    Shredding silken azalea sighs”

    You work has seemed especially inspired of late. The aspect I like best about this one is the way that the questions herein also provoke the read.

    Comment by dustus | March 20, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks again, Adam! These prompts have been ‘good’ for my brain, I think! I’m having a blast, really, and I have to thank you endlessly for that, for your choices of the most challenging images…

      Comment by Alegria Imperial | March 20, 2011 | Reply

  2. what do you see….takes me to one of my kids books…i think it is eric karle…but then your imagery tears that innosence…

    Comment by brian | March 20, 2011 | Reply

    • I know…can a hawk (is it?) be innocent? But it’s only my imagination. Thank you for your reading, Brian!

      Comment by Alegria Imperial | March 20, 2011 | Reply

  3. “..unlike /Mine seed-like but forward in my breast..” an excellent visual and emotional flying line, one the reader can’t help but react to, and there are many many more here, from the opening question and all the permutating answers to the hammer of a conclusion. Fine writing, Alegria; as always it’s a pleasure and a welcome challenge to read your thoughtful work.

    Comment by hedgewitch | March 20, 2011 | Reply

    • Thank you again, so very much, Joy! The prompt didn’t give me some definite thought, at first. But I slept on it and this must have come from a dream. Yes, I like it, too.

      Comment by alee9 | March 21, 2011 | Reply

  4. Fabulous take on the prompt, Alegria– I really love this– particularly taken with: Or spires that sway under a mid-heaven
    You strived to pierce to let spurt secrets
    The constellations conceive?

    Gorgeous imagery and weavings of phrase here. xxj

    Comment by jenneandrews | March 20, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks, Jenne! The stanza you picked is also one of my favorites!

      Comment by alee9 | March 21, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

