jornales

for a moment of joy or moments no one pays for, i give myself a ‘jornal’. this makes me rich. try it.

haibun (rewrite with deletions)

More and more news on Japan. More and more images of movie-like devastation in Sendai. Lives and homes and things dissolved like play things, bouncing on waves cardboard-like–as well as plums and cherry trees perhaps, how would Sendai spring be like now? Where these haven’t been uprooted, here’s how my friend, mi hermana, Margaret Dornaus (haikudoodle) sees it in a haiku:

weeping cherry . . .
so many blossoms downcast
by spring’s heartbreak

What do you see? You may wish to share it here or simply write it for yourself. Let’s offer them like incense for Japan.

March 15, 2011 - Posted by | haiku, poetry, sequence | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. Alegria, this is a really beautiful sequence — some of the best earthquake haiku I’ve seen. I really like how you neither focus on the disaster nor avoid it. The images of daily life in Japan are so moving juxtaposed with the brief allusions to what is happening there now.

    Comment by Melissa Allen | March 15, 2011 | Reply

  2. Thanks you so much, Melissa! This sequence flowed out as easily as my breath this morning when all I wanted to post was a single haiku I’ve posted on the NaHaiWriMo fb site. Yes, I’m still very much at it! But the images I see in the news every evening must be brewing in me something more than I’m conscious of. And so, this sequence just flowed as I was rushing out for a meeting downtown. I’m sure, there’s more…Thanks again!!!

    Comment by alee9 | March 16, 2011 | Reply

  3. Alegria, could I return the favor and use a couple of your ku in my next post on Japan?

    Comment by Margaret Dornaus | March 22, 2011 | Reply

    • Of course, mi hermana! I’d be honored.

      Comment by alee9 | March 22, 2011 | Reply

  4. So sorry to have deleted my haiku sequence in this post. I’ve submitted it to an anthology but failed to see the ‘unpublished’ guideline. The editor though kindly just told me to delete me from here. I’ll let you know what happens. Thanks you for your wonderful words, Melissa and Margaret!!!

    Comment by alee9 | March 30, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

