jornales

for a moment of joy or moments no one pays for, i give myself a ‘jornal’. this makes me rich. try it.

my haiku on Japan’s calamity at the NaHaiWriMo fb site

More than any of the recent and past images of earthquakes and tsunamis, that of Japan’s make of movies cardboard play. Perhaps because haiku is a Japanese art and as an art, it has as its heart, reality and Nature, postings in response to the disaster prompt at the still-on NaHaiWriMo fb site has been good with mostly exquisite haiku. I’ve posted these two so far:

#11c
tsunami–
swirling in the depths lives
and budding cherry trees

#11d
from haiku scribblings
to a prayer
on a giant wave

March 12, 2011 - Posted by | haiku, poetry | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. ” . . . a prayer on a giant wave.” Beautiful, hermana. My offering:

    weeping cherry . . .
    so many blossoms downcast
    by spring’s heartbreak

    Comment by Margaret Dornaus | March 14, 2011 | Reply

    • Mil gracias, mi hermana! What a poignant haiku! Can I include it when I gather more of the haiku I’ve written and post it here? Thanks for sharing it!

      Comment by alee9 | March 15, 2011 | Reply

  2. Of course you can. Gracias, hermana. What a time . . . my heart breaks more each day with the news.

    Comment by Margaret Dornaus | March 15, 2011 | Reply

  3. My Haiku for Japan,

    Warm sunshine melts snow
    Unfeeling, the Earth shudders
    Broken hearts find Hope

    Comment by Mike | March 16, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

