jornales

for a moment of joy or moments no one pays for, i give myself a ‘jornal’. this makes me rich. try it.

plea for a poem (for One Shot Wednesday)

write me a poem
words to breathe in
even if only whispers
as shouts have turned
the air into a
hail storm

write me some rain–
my heart crackles
in the draught longing
for words drenched in
thought to sip
in the dark

i yearn for verses
snipped from flame tips
words that dance
the fire of fallen angels
saved from their march
on dying coals

write me a song
cadenced in sunsets
tympanis of words
rising off the hum
of meanings
drums have flattened

give me back poems
shredded spirits birth
in caves midnights cleanse–
poems howling wolves
hankering for stars
divine

Posted for One Shot Wednesday at One Stop Poetry as my share in a lively exchange of art and poetry among a loving community of poets and artists who nurture each other. Follow us at the site. Click on OSP on my blogroll.

February 22, 2011 - Posted by | free verse, poetry | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

10 Comments »

  1. yeah i want one too…that last stanza rocks…the wolves howl indeed…

    Comment by brian miller | February 23, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks, Brian! I’m glad you like the last stanza!

      Comment by alee9 | February 23, 2011 | Reply

  2. The last two stanzas are just amazing–to quote them would be to minimize them out of context. The whole poem has a solemn and controlled feel that starts like a slow tune being played off in the distance and gradually gets louder, adds instruments then suddenly seems to break lose and fly. Fine piece, Alegria. A great pleasure to read it. I’m so glad you came back to poetry.

    Comment by hedgewitch | February 23, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks you so much again, Joy! I’ll treasure your critiques and perhaps when I could put these poem together, quote them with each one. This piece sort of wrote itself out, which is how I describe moments when a poem comes whole in one stroke. Maybe I was pleading to myself. Perhaps I needed to when it came–and it came as it should. The muse answered? Sometimes she does! Thanks again and again!

      Comment by alee9 | February 23, 2011 | Reply

  3. Beautiful and intense. I too would like words that dance and howl.

    Comment by rmpWritings | February 23, 2011 | Reply

    • Thank you!

      Comment by alee9 | February 23, 2011 | Reply

  4. Hi Ali– I see a hunger for experience in this or poetry as synonomous with experience– really beautiful– especially loved:

    write me some rain–
    my heart crackles
    in the draught longing
    for words drenched in
    thought to sip
    in the dark

    Comment by jenneandrews | February 23, 2011 | Reply

    • I’m glad you love it, Jen–an accomplised poet, a poet laureate! Yes, a hunger that is constant, which I struggle to fulfill in each poem I write. Thank you so much!

      Comment by alee9 | February 23, 2011 | Reply

  5. Wow. SO MANY great images and word choices!!! It’s hard to pick a favorite stanza, but if I must…

    i yearn for verses
    snipped from flame tips
    words that dance
    the fire of fallen angels
    saved from their march
    on dying coals

    My One Shot: Real Life Superheroes

    Comment by Rhyme Me a Smile | February 23, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks! I love this stanza, too!

      Comment by alee9 | February 23, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

