jornales

for a moment of joy or moments no one pays for, i give myself a ‘jornal’. this makes me rich. try it.

Scars (for One Shot Wednesday)

Buried crosses mark the grave of
my dreams, swags of pelt my days
had shed.

On crest of foam the sun floats, rising
only to splinter on sand where I picked
my dawns on the loam of my waking.

Waves heave but on my breath die, heaps
of air too leaden for flying. I crave
for sleep blankness promised: as

the sea washes blank the sky, its blueness
sinks to my cheeks. I wear the dawn,
a bruised mask.

Who reads my mask steals inscriptions of
secrets, sighs whorled in space: betrayal
has stripped me raw

my flesh, layers of omissions. I plaster
ribbons of sin on my breast, waiting in corners
where I remain still dreaming.

Posted for One Shot Wednesday at One Stop Poetry where this day of the week, amazing poetry is shared by more than a hundred poets whose passion and love for the art comes ablaze. Join us and be inflamed like I’ve been since.

February 16, 2011 - Posted by | free verse, poetry | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 Comments »

  1. love the thought of wearing dawn like a bruised mask..good you’re still dreaming…never ever stop..

    Comment by Claudia | February 16, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks, Claudia! The ‘bruised mask’ seemed to have just flowed into the painful theme. Yes, how can we stop dreaming? Thanks again!

      Comment by alee9 | February 16, 2011 | Reply

  2. i wear the dawn, a bruised mask…wow. this has a tight flow…would love to hear it read…

    Comment by brian miller | February 16, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks, Brian! Yes, why not a reading? I’ll try to get to a recording studio.

      Comment by alee9 | February 16, 2011 | Reply

  3. I like the whole thing(of course) but some of the lines really are stand outs–the stanza that ends with “where I picked my dawns on the loam of my waking” has at least three distinct images in it for me, and several different emotional loads. A wonderful, weighted and lyrical read, Alegria.

    Comment by hedgewitch | February 16, 2011 | Reply

    • Wow!!! For the last sentence, which is so unexpected because I wasn’t sure I could get through the writing–I wrote this as if in a trance. But you can read me more than I can my own self, Joy! Truly! Thank you so much as always.

      Comment by alee9 | February 17, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

