jornales

for a moment of joy or moments no one pays for, i give myself a ‘jornal’. this makes me rich. try it.

mirrors (for One Shoot Sunday)

mirrors—
a stare that stares back
in whose eyes?
wheat fields glinting
bouncing beaten gold off skies

too heavy
to leap past the frame
onto infinity–
beyond the grip of stones
where shadows rumble

old bones
clatter awaiting the wind
in bed with the moon
petrified butterfly clouds fold wings
weeds ogle at blue gaps

thunder
conceives lightning flashes
mirrors eye
the brittle sighing in the cairn
far off where desires lie

in complicity
with the sun—who stares back
in the mirror? a stare that stares back
in whose eyes beyond the frame
but stone on stone

Neutral Hills by Sean McCormick

Posted for One Shoot Sunday on One Stop Poetry from a photo by Sean McCormick. Here at OSP a vibrant community of poets and artists share their love for their art. Check us out.

February 13, 2011 - Posted by | free verse, poetry | , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

20 Comments »

  1. Excellent idea of how pieces of your lines come back around at the end, which to me seems like “stone on stone” to illustrate your concept literally. Also, like how it’s seen as a mirror.

    Comment by dustus | February 13, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks, Adam! The truth is, I thought as I wrote the first line, I could not get to a clear point. This was a real challenge for me.

      Comment by alee9 | February 14, 2011 | Reply

  2. lovely…i really enjoyed the flow of your piece…and great imagery

    Comment by brian miller | February 13, 2011 | Reply

    • Glad you enjoyed it, Brian!

      Comment by alee9 | February 14, 2011 | Reply

  3. Who dares…? I think I could handle glances…sweet write.

    Comment by Jerry | February 13, 2011 | Reply

    • Yes, who dares? Happy to know you liked it, Jerry!

      Comment by alee9 | February 14, 2011 | Reply

  4. Gorgeous writing!

    Comment by Mama Zen | February 13, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks, Mama Zen!

      Comment by alee9 | February 14, 2011 | Reply

  5. Love this, vivid imagery… wonderful write.

    Comment by Carmela | February 13, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks, Carmela! I’m glad you loved the imagery.

      Comment by alee9 | February 14, 2011 | Reply

  6. Wonderfully fluid piece!

    Here’s mine:
    http://wp.me/pZXMF-sm

    Comment by thoughtsnotlost | February 13, 2011 | Reply

    • Wonder ful words from you…thanks! And I liked your piece on what’s left and what’s to rebuild–an earnest piece!

      Comment by alee9 | February 14, 2011 | Reply

  7. One of the most lyrical lines ever, Alegria: “…mirrors eye
    the brittle sighing in the cairn
    far off where desires lie…”
    that, along with your own signature light touches–petrified butterflies, bones in bed with the moon–all make for an exceptionally beautiful poem, and a unique interpretation of the prompt, too. Loved it, my dear. You always have the good stuff over here.

    Comment by hedgewitch | February 13, 2011 | Reply

    • Wow!!! I’m so honored. And you’re getting my ‘touches’, too! Your breif critiques, these are what makes my lines better each time perhaps, helping me strive to win over my self with each poem. My gratitude is beyond the word itself but I have no other word for it–thanks ever so much, Joy!

      Comment by alee9 | February 14, 2011 | Reply

  8. beautiful, classic duende in this, I feel– I echo Hedge on this one– xxxJenne’

    Comment by jenneandrews | February 13, 2011 | Reply

    • Love how you find it a ‘classic duende’, Jen! Thank you so much!

      Comment by alee9 | February 14, 2011 | Reply

  9. Love the flow, the lyrical effects, the return as if placing another stone, securing the mirror once again.

    Comment by Reflections | February 14, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks, Petrina! I worked hard on ‘placing the stones’ securedly and ‘lyrically’!

      Comment by alee9 | February 14, 2011 | Reply

  10. The writing engaged me fully…

    Comment by contemplativemoorings | February 15, 2011 | Reply

    • A comment like yours makes it worthwhile to work hard on my poems. Thank you so much!

      Comment by alee9 | February 16, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

