jornales

for a moment of joy or moments no one pays for, i give myself a ‘jornal’. this makes me rich. try it.

revenant (three haiku that came back wilted I made to bloom again)

duck pair at lagoon
V-patterns on the water
and on the sky

against the haze
over bramble tips an
arc of budding twigs

and I against the blue
a strand of willow flailing
to touch the sky

First published in Issue 39—The Cortland Review
Copyright 2008

I know, these read like haiku. Yes, they are three haiku that didn’t work–one of the early suites I submitted to Peggy for The Heron’s Nest that came back to me with kind gracious words though very much wilted. I sort of buried them but one day, found them shooting. And so, I watered and let them out in the sun until they burst as blooms one day. I picked and strung them together into this poem that got accepted and published with a podcast, archived in TCR.

February 3, 2011 - Posted by | free verse, poetry | , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. I love this poem. It is so pictorial and suprising and true to experience. I like how it overlaps onto itself and you see everything in turn but also all at once.

    Comment by Raven Garland | February 3, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks, Raven, for this brief critique! I love it.

      Comment by alee9 | February 3, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

