jornales

for a moment of joy or moments no one pays for, i give myself a ‘jornal’. this makes me rich. try it.

winter moods (sequence that worked)

November sky
rains into stray runnels
into cesspools

drenched in the rain
city pavements let no step
leave a sign

on paved walls–
I trace the patchwork
by the moody rain

catching winter clouds
shielding for themselves alone
the marine blue sky

up frosty mountain peaks—
i wonder about the lily
in a summer pond

Published in LYNX XXVI:I, February 2011

A ‘sequence’ is another haiku-related form in English haiku where individual haiku along the same theme are put together. I seem to have better chances in getting accepted with it although most of my sequences have only been published in LYNX and The Cortland Review (Issue 39, ‘revenant’) not a haiku and its related forms but a poetry journal.

The form comes rather easily to me–I do it even here with my posts; when I start composing right here, one haiku often isn’t enough for an image/thought/moment that comes to mind. Sometimes I want to give up on writing haiku and perhaps just get on with my poetry, which seems to have given me a more distinctive voice but haiku whips me back to shape with its discipline and brevity. I look at it as a wisp of air, a mist, fog swarming over me so I may fade and be one with it.

And so, to add a haiku to this sequence

stepping into the fog
knowing
i, too, fade

January 31, 2011 - Posted by | critique/self-critique, poetry, sequence | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Alegria — congratulations on your LYNX publications, they were wonderful and I am so proud of you! This sequence is so atmospheric and so full of vivid images, it makes me feel like I’m sailing away on a sea of fog and rain …

    Comment by Melissa Allen | February 2, 2011 | Reply

    • …but I’m prouder of you, Melissa! I so proud to be your friend, proud at how much my haiku now read the way they do because of what you’ve given of yourself. I’m glad you like this sequence…the images couldn’t just stop at one haiku. Yes, it kept coming in waves like the sea…

      Comment by alee9 | February 2, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

