jornales

for a moment of joy or moments no one pays for, i give myself a ‘jornal’. this makes me rich. try it.

quenched (cactus haiku prompted by the Haiku Foundation facebook site)

quenched
the cactus blooms
while i thirst
(posted on the site 1 person likes it)

prickly cactus
to me: ‘touch me not’
my thirst unquenched

saguaro–
desert air brushing my skin
for comfort

desert wind
its rough embrace hurts
but not for the cactus

pear cactus
cut in strips to cook
in its own water

January 26, 2011 - Posted by | haiku, poetry | , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. […] quenched (cactus haiku prompted by the Haiku Foundation facebook site) « jornales Share and Enjoy: […]

    Pingback by quenched (cactus haiku prompted by the Haiku Foundation facebook site) « jornales « Imogene Cuiper's Blog | January 26, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks, Imogene!

      Comment by alee9 | January 26, 2011 | Reply

  2. Some smooth haiku dealing with a non-smooth topic. I want to go check out the prompt… Never ate cactus. Have hear mixed reviews on how it tastes 🙂

    Comment by dustus | January 26, 2011 | Reply

    • Oh nooo! I misled you, Adam! The prompt I meant is merely a topic on the site where you can post a haiku on it.

      But thanks so much for liking my haiku. My OSW poem is right below this, by the way.

      Comment by alee9 | January 27, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

