jornales

for a moment of joy or moments no one pays for, i give myself a ‘jornal’. this makes me rich. try it.

The Birthing (one shot Wednesday)

I was told an island
rises to its toes when love is
spoken:

waves mount clouds
birds turn dolphins singing.
Flowers bedded on
corals spew beads at

sunrise, winging up as
galaxies mutely
winking at words.

When love is
spoken, Earth shifts axis, faces
eyes limpidness had irked,

takes flings nudged out of
madness—shards shooting as if
aimed though swirling–
and breathes:

first, a shroud shields the pain, next,
a rainbow clears those eyes
for birthing.

Posted for One Shot Wednesday at One Stop Poetry blog. Join other poets who write verses for love, read those of others, leave a word of encouragement and/or insight with the same love and respect. Post your piece on your blog and sign up in the Mr. Linky list.

January 12, 2011 - Posted by | free verse, lyric poetry, poetry | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

18 Comments »

  1. I am certain of it. Islands like Hawaii are too beautiful there was an artists hand and a lover

    very beautiful story embedded here

    thanks for sharing with One Shot

    Comment by moondustwriter | January 12, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks for this comment Leslie! I agree with you on the beautiful the islands of Hawaii though I’ve been only to Oahu. I come from an archipelago of 7,100 islands, the Philippines and perhaps in part, the magic of the few islands I’ve been to was what seeped into this poem–except that we have no dolphins that fly, only stingrays. I’ve seen walls of corals underwater and shells of the most fascinating hues and shapes. The Gloria Maris spawns in the waters of the southern islands. I could talk endlessly of our white beaches and the silky creamy ones, too, because thy’re not of sand but of shell shards. One day, if you travel try a week on a Philippine beach.

      Thanks again.

      Comment by alee9 | January 13, 2011 | Reply

  2. when love speaks the earth shifts…that the power…some great lines in this one….

    Comment by waystationone | January 12, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks for picking out that line I so love. Thank you for this comment.

      Comment by alee9 | January 13, 2011 | Reply

  3. some amazingimagery here. love those first lines: “I was told an island
    rises to its toes when love is
    spoken:”–what an opening!

    Comment by siubhan | January 12, 2011 | Reply

    • Thank you for loving it!

      Comment by alee9 | January 13, 2011 | Reply

  4. I see you’re engaged in your own exercise in metaphor, Alegria. To me, I see that perfect island two people inhabit when they speak their love, when the world drops away, and everything flowers and comes to life, as you’ve said here so much more eloquently than I. Beautiful imagery and sure touch, a lovely piece. “..faces eyes/limpidness had irked…a rainbow clears those eyes for birthing” Great lines.

    Comment by hedgewitch | January 12, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks again, Joy! Metaphor–I’m sure like me, you’re not even aware that it’s an exercise when writing lines. It’s what I see that bring on the words that sometimes, somehow each leaps beyond each other so much so that I am left wondering how I got there like”That perfect island two people inhabit when they speak their love…”, which you recognized! Thanks so much.

      Comment by alee9 | January 13, 2011 | Reply

  5. I was told many things about the earth and life while growing up, though your use of metaphors sound way more eloquent and picturesque than what I heard to make sense of the universe. Beautiful poem.

    Comment by dustus | January 13, 2011 | Reply

    • “To make sense of the universe”! Thank you, Adam, for reassuring me that my poetry has a purpose at least.

      Comment by alee9 | January 13, 2011 | Reply

  6. Is there a way of getting an e-mail to you, Alegria, short of posting the comments here? I’ve developed a critique which just might be helpful to you but I don’t feel comfortable posting it publicly. I’ve been a subscriber since being led to you by Pat Gillespie. I sent what I wrote this morning but only a few minutes ago discovered it was e-mailed to “no-reply@wordpress” and presumably hasn’t gotten to you.

    Comment by Hendrik Gideonse | January 13, 2011 | Reply

    • I’d love to have your critique, Hendrik! I’m sure you got my email by now. Thank you for being a jornales subscriber!

      Comment by alee9 | January 13, 2011 | Reply

  7. Beautiful– a real waves mount clouds
    birds turn dolphins singing.
    Flowers bedded on
    corals spew beads at

    sunrise, winging up as
    galaxies mutely
    winking at words….reaching for unique diction and compression — there is an ache here and in your other poems i’ve seen that is so potent– xxxj

    Comment by jenneandrews | January 13, 2011 | Reply

    • Thank you, Jenne! The “ache”, yes, it seems to be a constant in my lines. I think in my poetry as in my being–because it’s from where our thoughts rise–pain, real or imagined, balances my leaps of joy. It keeps me aware of how flitting life is, beauty is, how un-changeless this universe, hence, how treasured each moment must be. Thanks again.

      Comment by alee9 | January 13, 2011 | Reply

  8. A new dawn, and a new birth in beautiful verse.

    Comment by booguloo | January 13, 2011 | Reply

    • Thank you! Yes, a new dawn.

      Comment by alee9 | January 13, 2011 | Reply

  9. Very, very beautiful wordsmithing 🙂

    Comment by contemplativemoorings | January 14, 2011 | Reply

  10. Thank you so much!

    Comment by Alegria Imperial | January 14, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

