jornales

for a moment of joy or moments no one pays for, i give myself a ‘jornal’. this makes me rich. try it.

Suppositions (One Shot Wednesday)

I gape at turtles dip legs
in a pool the sun
just now deserted.

Tipping on rock
I sway on a shell of suppositions
whether

or not water not light
whets the eyes, whether or not to sip
not to see fills cavities of

empty cages, gaping hearts
that sullen suns disabled
when deserting lovers

dredged the pool
of its clarity and water ebbed
on man-made rocks

where I now teeter, nudging
turtles on rock-edge, my legs dipped
but short on water, my toes

a ginger-spread
stalking my origins
elsewhere.

I mind the rain drowning
in pools or falling on ginger roots–
soon juiced for life—

but I don’t mind it falling
on crackling fire where
raindrops sizzle, the sound of

dying doused,
which props me up still balancing
on turtle back

eternal suppositions
that stilled the pool where I
have gelled.

Posted for One Shot Wednesday at One Stop Poetry blog. Join me and other poets who write verses for love, read those of others, leave a word of encouragement and/or insight with the same love and respect. Post your piece on your blog and sign up in the Mr. Linky list.

December 29, 2010 - Posted by | free verse, poetry | , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

10 Comments »

  1. Love the implicit questioning, and indeed supposing/indecision apparent throughout the flow of excellent sounding descriptions.

    Comment by dustus | December 29, 2010 | Reply

    • So glad you love it, Adam!

      Comment by alee9 | December 29, 2010 | Reply

  2. My supposition is that this is a fine piece of writing, visually, and structurally pleasing and symmetrical. Plus the substance, the thoughts, all full of nuance. Loved the ginger-root toes.

    Comment by hedgewitch | December 29, 2010 | Reply

  3. So uplifted by you as always, Joy!

    Comment by alee9 | December 29, 2010 | Reply

  4. Gelled for now, perhaps, but like the turtles, you will be in motion again one day, no matter how slow the starting.

    Comment by Fireblossom | December 29, 2010 | Reply

    • I agree! For me, almost any moment such as this one with the turtles with all its significance, teeter on the brink of ever-moving forces, which is why its significance takes on not statements or decrees but suppositions. Thanks!

      Comment by alee9 | December 29, 2010 | Reply

  5. very nice…i have to agree on the imagery…this was a joy to read

    Comment by brian | December 29, 2010 | Reply

    • Thanks, Brian!

      Comment by alee9 | December 29, 2010 | Reply

  6. I’m reminded of the Native American mythology of the world being on a great turtle’s back. Nice One Shot!

    Comment by Eric | December 29, 2010 | Reply

    • Thanks for the information, Eric! I’m not aware of it. This poem started as a haiku about an experience at Brooklyn Gardens by the pool–there was a pair of turtles basking in the sun, and yes, teetering on a stone. As it is known to happen, my mind must have ‘tapped’ into the ‘pool’ of myths and legends that explains the mysterious, the unknown–the universe. And thank you for your comment!

      Comment by alee9 | December 29, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

