jornales

for a moment of joy or moments no one pays for, i give myself a ‘jornal’. this makes me rich. try it.

la luna blanca (not-quite haiku) for Margaret

Re-post from July 20, 2009 for Margaret as I mentioned in a conversation on Lorca, his “la luna blanca” poems, my own Spanish-entrenched culture, and my own caged, wounded but singing heart! I realize now that these are not quite haiku. I hope you enjoy it.

1.

la luna blanca

llores en mi corazon

el silencio en la aula

(white moon

weeps in my heart–

the muted cage)

2.

los ruisenores

mosca en la noche blanca

deje heridas

(nightingales

fly into the white night

leaving wounds behind)

Listening to Julio Iglesias, I was suddenly composing these haiku in Spanish! I feel like winning the lotto! But I can’t reward myself with a million dollar “jornal”–that would not match the value of joy (alegria!!!), which, of course, is priceless. I’ll say for these haiku, I pay myself $1000.

November 29, 2010 - Posted by | language views, lyric poetry, poetry | , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 Comments »

  1. What a wonderful surprise, Alegria. Not just that you re-posted this for me, which is wonderfully generous of you . . . but when I looked at the date of your original post, I discovered it was dated on my birthday! So, I feel doubly honored. I haven’t had a chance to pull up the Lorca poem I told you about, but I will in the next day or so and will leave it for you. I particularly like the second offering here. Such an interesting image of nightingales flying into the night.

    It’s hard for me not to want to play around with the translations from Spanish to English, because that’s what I got my degree in. So I hope you won’t take it as an offense but rather as a compliment when I offer a different (not necessarily better and, perhaps not even your intention) version of your first one:

    the white moon–
    imprisoned by my heart,
    by my silent tears . . .

    Comment by Margaret Dornaus | November 30, 2010 | Reply

    • What a beautiful haiku, Margaret! It is indeed what I meant. But your lines are more deeply moving, more poetic, lyrical.

      If your birthday is July 20th and you’re definitely a Cancerian, no wonder we’ve intuitively read each other’s hearts. My birthday is seven days later from yours, a Leo with a Moon in Cancer in my midheaven! It comes as no surprise that we’re talking of our love for Spanish, the languge of old worlds and romance. We’re not only primas but hermanas!

      I do have another surprise for you or I think I had mentioned it. Soon!

      Comment by alee9 | December 1, 2010 | Reply

  2. The first poem is stunning – one of two (thus far) ‘favorites of this week’ poems. Wish I’d written this!

    The second poem is excellent, too, but something about the first one really nailed me, as a reader.

    Comment by Steve Isaak | November 30, 2010 | Reply

    • “Stunning”, a favorite of this week, too! I’m so honored and humbled, Steve. That I do love both poems makes the lines more priceless to me now. Thank you beyond these words.

      Comment by alee9 | December 1, 2010 | Reply

  3. I really like your site. Excellent content. Please continue posting such profound cotent.

    Comment by private tours in St.Petersburg | December 1, 2010 | Reply

    • Thank you! I’ll strive to keep writing the way you love it.

      Comment by alee9 | December 1, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

