jornales

for a moment of joy or moments no one pays for, i give myself a ‘jornal’. this makes me rich. try it.

paper moon

paper moon—
too high
for the autumn wind

by Alegria Imperial 9th place haiku kukai Sketchbook 5-5 SepOct 2010

I am posting this poem for One Shot Wednesday at the One Stop Poetry blog.

Join us – throw in your verses. Here are the rules (taken directly off their blog):

1. Write a poetic piece & post it on your blog
2. Then let us know about your post. Link back to One Shot
3. Sign up in the Mr Linky list, linking directly to your post, AFTER you’ve posted it.
4. Go visit others who have signed up! Offer support & encouragement. Share your love of words and insight respectfully. Please try to visit as many participating poets as you can. We all could use and appreciate kind feedback.

November 17, 2010 - Posted by | haiku, poetry | , , , , , , , ,

10 Comments »

  1. too high for the autumn wind…there are other winds to blow…yes..nice one shot!

    Comment by Claudia | November 17, 2010 | Reply

    • Thanks, Claudia! Walking in the evenigs, I’m always taken by the distance between me and the moon, whichever phase it’s in.

      I clicked on your ‘one shot’ and again tried to leave a comment, this, but couldn’t: “…pouring freight/on fragile constructions…” imagery that haunts because of its unexpectedness yet its truth! Thank you for opening another window to my consciousness.

      Comment by alee9 | November 17, 2010 | Reply

  2. This is lovely, Alegria … it does always seem as if the wind should be able to do something with the moon and then you realize exactly how impossible that is. 🙂

    Comment by MLA | November 20, 2010 | Reply

    • Thanks, Melissa!

      The moon always intrigues me–as if I don’t know what it is. But its reflected light comes off as always veiled, shrouded, elusive. Ancient knowledge mined this mysteriousness attributing to it what cannot be gained by those who are less than mystic. It is to be expected then that in occult sciences, the moon represents the subconscious as in the sea which is fathomless. Hmmm…to much, huh? I do have a suite of haiku on the moon and I think I’m not done yet!

      Comment by alee9 | November 20, 2010 | Reply

  3. This is a beautiful haiku, Alegria. Paper lanterns are something I have loved since childhood. My house is full of them. The moon, to me, is a beautiful paper lantern. 🙂

    Comment by upinvermont | November 23, 2010 | Reply

    • Patrick, you finally found the time to come by! Thank you! Paper lanterns, yes, I think appeal to us because of their sheer weightlessness. When hang, they, too, take on that mysterious quality of light that compels us to keep glued looking. The moon whatever its phase does that to me.

      Comment by alee9 | November 23, 2010 | Reply

  4. I love this too, Alegria. And then I noticed in one of your replies how you talked of having “a suite of haiku on the moon,” which sounds like a line of poetry in an of itself.

    Comment by Margaret Dornaus | November 26, 2010 | Reply

    • When someone loves your haiku, it’s like catching a shooting star! One more wish come true that an aha moment has been shared and taken. Thank you, Margaret.

      Yes, I so love to dwell on the moon–“a line of poetry in and of itself?” Perhaps we can begin to think about it. I’ve actually played with the idea even writing in Spanish (la luna blanca ) and if I could go beyond a sentence in French ( as claire de lune borrowing from Debussy) and in my native dialect, of course ( sellag or full moon). What gets me even more exhilarated is that the haiku or lyric poem takes on another world with each language. Hmmmm… sounds exciting, doesn’t it?

      Our ideas on this might just gel someday soon.

      Comment by alee9 | November 27, 2010 | Reply

      • I love the idea of writing haiku in another language (other than English). I’ve played a little bit with Spanish as well. And, funny, one of my favorite Lorca poems (not haiku) starts with the line “la luna blanca.” I’m going to re-read it tonight!

        Comment by Margaret Dornaus | November 29, 2010

      • I, too, love Lorca’s poems. I once spent half of a semester devouring them during hours in a corner of our 360-year old (soon 400) university, founded soon after Spain colonized the Philippines. But university has been so long ago and the only line that echoes in my mind now is “verde te quiero verde“. His “la luna blanca” must have sunk deeper in my spirit so much so that it wrote itself into my own short poems. I’ve posted two of them here sometime ago in Spanish and English (they both ‘spoke’ to me in Spanish, which I translated). I’ll try to pull both up for you. But I also have a trilingual song that I’m polishing to post soon. We could seriously think about a moon suite!

        Thanks again for this conversation, Margaret!

        Comment by alee9 | November 29, 2010


Leave a Reply

