jornales

for a moment of joy or moments no one pays for, i give myself a ‘jornal’. this makes me rich. try it.

“…but i beg for eyes…” (break from haiku)

From “a beggar’s prayer”
“…
but i beg for eyes that open skies
hooded by grease,
a warm brew to douse my morning
to wash off the grit of my waking…”

by Alegria Imperial published in “Let Us Pray”, Sketchbook SepOct 2010

I posted this poem for One Shoot Sunday at the One Stop Poetry blog.

Join us – throw in your verses. Here are the rules (taken directly off their blog):

1. Write a poetic piece & post it on your blog
2. Then let us know about your post. Link back to One Shot
3. Sign up in the Mr Linky list, linking directly to your post, AFTER you’ve posted it.
4. Go visit others who have signed up! Offer support & encouragement. Share your love of words and insight respectfully. Please try to visit as many participating poets as you can. We all could use and appreciate kind feedback.

November 14, 2010 - Posted by | poetry | , , , , , , , ,

7 Comments »

  1. really liked your take on this…a prayer…i pray for open eyes as well…nicely done

    Comment by Claudia | November 14, 2010 | Reply

    • Thanks, Claudia! I accessed your blog but just can’t leave a comment with an Open ID! I still have to learn how.

      But I like the poem you posted. Deep feelings there.

      Comment by alee9 | November 14, 2010 | Reply

  2. lots of touches with this one..the grease and the grit…very nice…

    Comment by brian | November 14, 2010 | Reply

    • Thanks, Brian. Like I said in my comments, homelessness always strikes me with haunting lines, or anyone with a prayer, I believe.

      Comment by alee9 | November 14, 2010 | Reply

    • I visited your blog but couldn’t leave a comment with an OPen ID!

      I love your blog. Plenty of room and swarming with verses to inspire, to prompt, to treasure. Thanks again.

      Comment by alee9 | November 14, 2010 | Reply

  3. A prayer from and for the beggar’s eyes, nice take on a difficult topic.

    Comment by Reflections | November 15, 2010 | Reply

    • Thank you! I find it always painful to look into the eyes of those who are suffering. And if I do, I always end up crying. Yes, to even think about the magnitude of those in need in our world where half of it toss away more than half of what they have or let spoil what they can’t use, drags me to despair. But perhaps, if I, we could but look into the eyes of those needing compassion…

      Comment by alee9 | November 15, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

