jornales

for a moment of joy or moments no one pays for, i give myself a ‘jornal’. this makes me rich. try it.

fall ‘sightings’

1. 

river barge

pulling logs against the flow

against the twilight

 

2. 

evergreen

flailing in the haze—

the first low star

 

3. 

a quiver

in the lavender bush?

but starlings roosting

 

So little time–that’s how the shift of seasons feel. Fall has shortened the day and the heart begins to crave for lost space that it doesn’t even recall which or where. I’ve lost track of ‘treasures’ I failed to gather; they’ve since turned into mush–I wouldn’t be able to sift them off the ground. Yet dying is so glorious in the gold of autumn. Again I can’t even think of how much ‘jornal’ I deserve for these fall sightings.

November 2, 2009 - Posted by | haiku, poetry | , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. Hello Allegria. : ) I’m so sorry I haven’t checked in sooner. Do me a favor. There’s a new widget you can add that will allow me to get E-Mail notifications when you post new haiku. Please activate and I will sign up. That way I will know when you post new poetry and haiku.

    The first of these haiku is lovely, and reminds me of Basho. In the second I imagine that you see an evergreen on a windy and hazy night, but it is not so hazy that you cannot see the first star.

    The third is makes me think you were startled, then reassured that there were only starlings. I also thought of a quiver, a case which holds arrows. I thought that perhaps the starlings were darting in and out of the lavender bush like arrows.

    Comment by upinvermont | December 14, 2009 | Reply

    • Hi Patrick,

      Basho!!! I’m humbled by this honor you have given my haiku so generously. When I saw this image by the river park, I was instantly struck by the irony yet the sadness of the moment.

      Yes, you’re right about the second ‘sighting’–the flailing twig seemed to have pointed to the single star, Venus I suppose. And the third, again you caught me there–startled and fearful at first, but reassured by starlings gone home to roost–as I wished I were, I, who always feels lost. Too, the starlings did dart about like arrows to find a comfortable spot as they twittered.

      By the way, I had activated the widget for email subscriptions. And I visited your site. Since I got busy in a book on true voices of 78 women elders from British Columbia, I had missed much of the poetry and haiku sites especially yours. And I got overwhelmed as always when I come back by the range of poetry knowledge you had since posted! You constantly amaze me. Again, I learned a lot.

      Thanks again hugely!

      Alegria

      Comment by alee9 | December 15, 2009 | Reply

  2. Hi Allegria, I just subscribed to your blog. Now I won’t have to guess as to when you post. : )

    Comment by upinvermont | December 15, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

