jornales

for a moment of joy or moments no one pays for, i give myself a ‘jornal’. this makes me rich. try it.

haiku-la luna blanca

1.

la luna blanca

llores en mi corazon

el silencio en aula

 

(white moon

weeps in my heart

the muted cage)

2.

los ruisenores

mosca en la noche blanca

deje heridas

 

(the nightingales

fly into the white night

leaving wounds behind)

 

Listening to Julio Iglesias, I was suddenly composing these haiku in Spanish! I feel like winning the lotto! But I can’t reward myself with a million dollar “jornal”–that would not match the value of joy (alegria!!!), which, of course, is priceless. I’ll say for these haiku, I pay myself a $1000.

July 19, 2009 - Posted by | haiku | , ,

7 Comments »

  1. These are quite interesting – very abstract. I feel as though there is some symbolism in the white moon and the white night but I’m not sure.

    The only time I hear Iglesias is during Christmas! : )

    Comment by upinvermont | July 23, 2009 | Reply

    • Muchas gracias, Patrick! No symbolism there or I didn’t intend to have any. The white moon has always fascinated me when it hangs like a a giant wafer cookie. I had noted as a child as well how the moon at times flooded my bed white and instead of warming me, I’d feel quite lonely. As for the nightingales, it’s their name in Spanish that has fascinated for a long time.

      Try listening to Julio’s ballads. Perhaps because I’m Filipino and even if quite resentful of being colonial, my spirit is quite Spanish so I relate to his melodies.

      It’s for you and your friends like Emma that I seem to be writing more haiku here.

      Alegria

      Comment by alee9 | July 23, 2009 | Reply

  2. What a lovely thing to say, Alegria. Your haiku have a different feel to most folks’ work – these play with magic realism – perhaps its the Spanish blood!

    Comment by Dalloway | July 25, 2009 | Reply

  3. The second haiku actually made me think of Oscar Wilde’s Fairy Tale – The Nightingale and the Rose. Have you read this story, Alegria? If not, please do.

    Comment by upinvermont | July 25, 2009 | Reply

    • I’m overwhelmed at the thought of how my imagery made you think of Oscar Wilde. My huge huge thanks to you as always, Patrick!

      I’m sorry for this delay in my reply. I didn’t even realize you read this a second time. I had been away with a friend and my sister travelling to the Sunshine Coast. And it has yielded for me some startling moments.

      Thanks again for always peeking in and for sharing jornales with Emma and her Australian friends.

      Yes, I’ve read the Nightingale and the Rose long ago but I’ll look for it again as you had suggested.

      Comment by alee9 | August 23, 2009 | Reply

  4. Glad to have discovered your blog. Refreshing insights…
    Thanks.

    Comment by Carlos Gesmundo | August 18, 2009 | Reply

    • Thanks, Carlos, for expressing how this blog has touched you. Kindred hearts like Patrick, Emma and haiku poets in Australia seem to like being here. Like them, make it yours.

      Alegria

      Comment by alee9 | August 18, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

