jornales

for a moment of joy or moments no one pays for, i give myself a ‘jornal’. this makes me rich. try it.

summer evening pickings-haiku

Like a bonus, these ‘summer evening pickings’ , these haiku moments swept me on my walk this early evening. I suppose I deserve a ‘jornal’ of $1000–not a small jackpot on Canada Day (tomorrow, July  1st).  Thanks to ‘poet upinvermont’, I really seem more attuned.

1.

delayed arrival–

a pregnant moon hangs

on a summer sky

2.

by the gate

she stops to smell a rose–

monks chanting matins

3.

hydrangea blooms

over the fence my eye-level

children’s portrait

4.

empty white chair

on a front lawn at dusk

a dog sniffs its legs

July 1, 2009 - Posted by | haiku, poetry | , ,

6 Comments »

  1. very well written moments.

    Comment by shraddha | July 1, 2009 | Reply

    • And thank you for your visit!

      Comment by alee9 | July 1, 2009 | Reply

  2. Hello Alegria,

    Patrick of PoemShape recommended I have a look at your work. He talks very highly of you and I can understand why. There is some beautiful work here.

    Of the haiku above I love your first one, the pregnant moon. My first little boy was 2 weeks late and I did indeed feel the heaviness captured in these lines (albeit in a southern winter sky).

    Comment by Dalloway | July 2, 2009 | Reply

    • Hi Dalloway,

      To Patrick’s and your generous words for my haiku, I don’t have words expressive enough to thank you both.

      I must never fail to be grateful because haiku moments breeze in like nymphs; only when they’ve disappeared as fleeting as mirages do the words dance into a haiku. I’ll never know when a haiku moment comes again.

      I like how you caught the ‘spirit’ of the ‘pregnant moon’, relating it to the actual heaviness of your son’s ‘delayed arrival’!I cannot explain how the words welded in this haiku but they just did as somehow the pregnant moon struck me as ‘extending itself’.

      Thanks again.

      Comment by alee9 | July 3, 2009 | Reply

  3. Hello Alegria, sorry that I didn’t stop by sooner. Computer problems.

    Like Emma, I especially liked the first haiku: very simple and powerfully suggestive. And the last haiku about the dog: very gentle and also humorous.

    I’m not sure I understand the third haiku, but I may have to think about it a little more carefully.

    Comment by upinvermont | July 8, 2009 | Reply

    • I do like the first haiku myself. And the dog sniffing by the empty chair? It just struck me as one more snap shot of man’s absence in most spheres–bodily, emotionally, intellectually.

      About the third haiku? It needs reworking, I agree. But hydrangeas do remind me of children’s curly heads.

      Thanks again for your gentle words.

      Alegria

      Comment by alee9 | July 9, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

