jornales

for a moment of joy or moments no one pays for, i give myself a ‘jornal’. this makes me rich. try it.

ILUKO HAIKU

How much can I possibly give my own self a jornal for this priceless rediscovery of the dialect–one of 87 but among the five major dialects in the Philippines–I was born with it but lost from lack of usage when I was in my teens? Nobody can imagine my endless exhilaration everytime a poem leaps off my breast: the sound of each word, the image it conjures, the spirit around which an old or new world unravels are beyond … words. It’s priceless! If you could, this time, would you please pay me a jornal for it?

 1.

batbato inta
kapanagan
sabsabong ti sardam

stones
on the riverbank
dawn flowers 

2.

daluyon iti
tengga’t aldaw
arasaas mo

billows
at high tide
your whispers 

3.

bulan nga
agpadaya
nagpakada kadi?

setting moon
in the east
did you say goodbye? 

4.

inururot
a pagay
tedted ti lulua

pulled strands
of rice grain
tear drops

5. 

dagiti bulbulong
nga agtataray
lenned diay laud

rustle
of leaves
sun set

Alegria Imperial at LYNX XXIV 1 February 2009 /also PoemShape/and bilingual pen/and iluko.com

 

June 1, 2009 - Posted by | haiku | , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

